There's Something about Mary

Stories and thoughts about my time as a Peace Corps volunteer in Moldova

Bliss

Leave a comment

Recently I finished the book The Geography of Bliss by Eric Weiner.  In it he searches for the happiest place on earth, he visits and writes about 10 countries, some considered to be really happy and others not so happy.  One of the countries he writes about is Moldova.  Other volunteers have read it and don’t like the book because of what he wrote about Moldova.  I don’t agree with what he wrote about Moldova, but he does have some good things to say in general.  In the end he discusses the nature of happiness, and I think he put it very well.  “Money matters, but less than we think and not in the way that we think.  Family is important.  So are friends.  Envy is toxic.  So is excessive thinking.  Beaches are optional.  Trust is not.  Neither is gratitude.”

Noapte buna

Author: Mary O

Hi, I'm Mary. I am orignally from Spokane Wash., where I lived for 20 years of my life. I went to school in Bellingham Wash, at Western Washington University and graduated with a degree in Business Administration. In June 2011, I moved to Moldova for the Peace Corps. In the Peace Corps, I am an Agribusiness and Rural Development Volunteer, and live in a town called Riscani, which is about 3 hours northwest of the capital city. I love Moldova, but there are somedays where I really miss all my friends and family in the States! Email me if you have more questions!

Leave a comment