There's Something about Mary

Stories and thoughts about my time as a Peace Corps volunteer in Moldova

Close of Service (COS) Conference

Leave a comment

During the last week of April, I attended my final conference as a PCV.  It was the first time that our group (M26, the 26th group in Moldova) had all been together since February 2012.  We all met at the Peace Corps office in Chisinau, and then were bussed to Vada Lui Voda, a resort area along the Dniester River.  During the 2-day conference we learned about what was required of us before we leave Moldova and head back home.  Some of statistics we learned were 64 people were invited to Moldova, 55 actually came to Moldova in June 2011, 52 officially swore-in as volunteers, 34 were attending the COS conference and 4 will be extending for a third year.  In my specific business development group, 12 volunteers swore-in and currently we have 9 volunteers, 6 of us will be COSing in July and 3 will be extending.

It was great to see everyone together, we were blessed with great weather and in two short months we will all be going our separate ways.

O zi buna!

Author: Mary O

Hi, I'm Mary. I am orignally from Spokane Wash., where I lived for 20 years of my life. I went to school in Bellingham Wash, at Western Washington University and graduated with a degree in Business Administration. In June 2011, I moved to Moldova for the Peace Corps. In the Peace Corps, I am an Agribusiness and Rural Development Volunteer, and live in a town called Riscani, which is about 3 hours northwest of the capital city. I love Moldova, but there are somedays where I really miss all my friends and family in the States! Email me if you have more questions!

Leave a Reply

