There's Something about Mary

Stories and thoughts about my time as a Peace Corps volunteer in Moldova

My Red Cup

Leave a comment

When I lived with my host family in training last summer every morning I drank tea out of the same red cup.  Even over this past year when I went to visit on weekends they would always give me the red cup.  I found it to be kind of comforting to know that the red cup is always the one I received my tea in.

A new group of volunteers arrived last Thursday evening and I found out a couple of weeks ago that my host family from training will be hosting another volunteer this summer. The new girl living with my host family now gets my red cup.  Which is a little sad, but I am glad they still encourage me to visit and I know I will always be the first volunteer they ever had. 🙂

Author: Mary O

Hi, I'm Mary. I am orignally from Spokane Wash., where I lived for 20 years of my life. I went to school in Bellingham Wash, at Western Washington University and graduated with a degree in Business Administration. In June 2011, I moved to Moldova for the Peace Corps. In the Peace Corps, I am an Agribusiness and Rural Development Volunteer, and live in a town called Riscani, which is about 3 hours northwest of the capital city. I love Moldova, but there are somedays where I really miss all my friends and family in the States! Email me if you have more questions!

Leave a Reply

