There's Something about Mary

Stories and thoughts about my time as a Peace Corps volunteer in Moldova

SPA Project

Leave a comment

All through training last summer and the extra two weeks we had at the end of September/early October I heard about writing grants.  And in January, my program group (ARBD) along with our work partners had a training about how to write grants.  My partner and I talked a little about the idea she had, but didn’t really get much going with the writing until the end of March, and then it was put on hold even more with the Easter celebrations.

But now I am happy to say that we completed our grant proposal in mid-May and presented it last Friday to the SPA review board.  And on Tuesday I received am email from my program manager that pending some small changes/additions our proposal was approved for funding!!

So, what was the project we submitted?   Well, my partner wants to do some basic business training seminars for the people in the rural area of our district.  The 3 that we are going to start with are business planning, writing a business plan and basic accounting skills.  We are also going to offer the business planning seminar to the youth at the local agro-college (similar to a technical school).  There are some other aspects of the project also, but that is the main portion.

Thank you to SPA and USAID for providing the funding!

Author: Mary O

Hi, I'm Mary. I am orignally from Spokane Wash., where I lived for 20 years of my life. I went to school in Bellingham Wash, at Western Washington University and graduated with a degree in Business Administration. In June 2011, I moved to Moldova for the Peace Corps. In the Peace Corps, I am an Agribusiness and Rural Development Volunteer, and live in a town called Riscani, which is about 3 hours northwest of the capital city. I love Moldova, but there are somedays where I really miss all my friends and family in the States! Email me if you have more questions!

Leave a Reply

