There's Something about Mary

Stories and thoughts about my time as a Peace Corps volunteer in Moldova

Lenin, where is your head?

Leave a comment

When I first found out that I was going to be living in Riscani, the first thing one of the other volunteers told me was “The one thing I know about Riscani, is you have an awesome statue of Lenin.”  He was right, in the center of town, and directly in front of the building I work in was a huge statue of Lenin.

On Monday, when I was leaving the building and walking home, I looked up and noticed that Lenin’s head and shoulders were missing.  (And I of course didn’t have my camera with me to take any pictures.)  The next time I saw my partner in the office, Wednesday, I asked her where Lenin’s head was>  She then told me how the president of the raion council (district council) wanted Lenin to be removed.  The communist party is trying to just have him moved to another place in Riscani.   From what I understood, the communist party is not happy about what the president of the raion did, either is the mayor.  They also think that it is illegal.   They said that if Lenin is not whole again by May 19 then they will protest.

According to the local news station, this is the 4th attempt to have Lenin removed in the last 3 years and he was originally constructed in 2003.

(And if it wasn’t pouring down rain, I would have a more recent picture of Lenin.  Check back, I will get one)

Image     Image

Author: Mary O

Hi, I'm Mary. I am orignally from Spokane Wash., where I lived for 20 years of my life. I went to school in Bellingham Wash, at Western Washington University and graduated with a degree in Business Administration. In June 2011, I moved to Moldova for the Peace Corps. In the Peace Corps, I am an Agribusiness and Rural Development Volunteer, and live in a town called Riscani, which is about 3 hours northwest of the capital city. I love Moldova, but there are somedays where I really miss all my friends and family in the States! Email me if you have more questions!

Leave a Reply

