There's Something about Mary

Stories and thoughts about my time as a Peace Corps volunteer in Moldova

Paşte Fericit! (Happy Easter) pt1

Leave a comment

This past weekend I celebrated easter with my host family.  I was really unsure of what to expect, but I knew it is a big deal for Moldovans.  As I have mentioned before, a large majority of Moldovans are Orthodox, they use a different calendar then Christians and so this year Easter was celebrated a week later then the Christian Easter on April 8th.

My host mom had been preparing for Easter for about 2 weeks, thoroghly cleaning the house and washing all the rugs.  (I helped a bit too).  And also preparing the food.  Lots of meats, salads, a special sweat bread and boiled eggs that were dyed red and green. By Saturday every thing was prepared and the house was nice and clean.

Saturday night our plan was to go to the church at around 4 AM.  I woke up around 3:30, went to wash my face and my host mom called her daughters and then they all decided not to go since it was raining so hard, so I went to go back to sleep, and 5 minutes later my host mom came back and said she changed her mind, we should go, we are already awake. So 10 minutes later we were on our way to the church with our umbrellas and a basket of food to have blessed.  I didn’t realize till after we arrived that we weren’t going to the whole church service, we were just waiting for the priest to bless our food, along with many other people in Riscani.

We waited for about an hour, then following the ladies singing the priest came with his bucket of water, said a blessing and then splashed us and the food with the holy water.  Afterwards we were done, and walked back home,  When we got home we ate a little of the food, had a little of the wine, then took a nap until the next masa later on Sunday.

   

   

One of the things my host mom was very curious about was if we did something similar in the US.  I had to explain to her no we don’t but I am glad I got to experience it with them.

Author: Mary O

Hi, I'm Mary. I am orignally from Spokane Wash., where I lived for 20 years of my life. I went to school in Bellingham Wash, at Western Washington University and graduated with a degree in Business Administration. In June 2011, I moved to Moldova for the Peace Corps. In the Peace Corps, I am an Agribusiness and Rural Development Volunteer, and live in a town called Riscani, which is about 3 hours northwest of the capital city. I love Moldova, but there are somedays where I really miss all my friends and family in the States! Email me if you have more questions!

Leave a Reply

