There's Something about Mary

Stories and thoughts about my time as a Peace Corps volunteer in Moldova

RISE Boot Drop

Leave a comment

In Peace Corps Moldova we have several clubs that you can get involved in to do work on some secondary projects.  One of those groups is RISE (Roma Inclusion Support Education).  On March 17 I helped RISE with a boot drop in a village called Peresecina, where two volunteers live.

We talked about stereotypes and social status and gave away 30 pairs of boots to children in socially vulnerable families.  The weather was beautiful, and it finally felt like Spring was on its way.

Thanks Samuel Bistrian and Roma Boots for this awesome opportunity. These kids appreciated it.  

O zi buna!

Author: Mary O

Hi, I'm Mary. I am orignally from Spokane Wash., where I lived for 20 years of my life. I went to school in Bellingham Wash, at Western Washington University and graduated with a degree in Business Administration. In June 2011, I moved to Moldova for the Peace Corps. In the Peace Corps, I am an Agribusiness and Rural Development Volunteer, and live in a town called Riscani, which is about 3 hours northwest of the capital city. I love Moldova, but there are somedays where I really miss all my friends and family in the States! Email me if you have more questions!

Leave a Reply

