There's Something about Mary

Stories and thoughts about my time as a Peace Corps volunteer in Moldova

5 things I miss about summer

Leave a comment

It is almost the end of February and I am hoping that soon the weather will change and signs of Spring will be coming.  The sooner Spring comes, then the sooner it will be Summer!  Here are some things I miss about summer:

1) Reading outside, during the summer I read a lot, and I still do, but I have taken on several other activities to keep me occupied including knitting, cross-stitching and crocheting.  Yesterday I finished my first cross-stitch product.

2) Not having to bundle up in several layers every time I go outside.  I don’t seem to have a lot of long-sleeved shirts/sweaters, so I feel like I am wearing the same ones all the time.  By the end of next winter I will probably never want to wear any of them again.

3) Laundry drying quickly.  I don’t generally miss dryers in the U.S., the only part I miss about those is the little bit of shrink they give clothes and the warmness when clothes are fresh out of the dryer, but in the summer it takes 1 maybe 2 days max to dry clothes outside on the line.  During the winter it seems to take forever, closer to a week.  Luckily my host mom after a day or two brings them inside and places them next to the heaters to speed up the process.

4) Fresh fruits and vegetables.  Currently I think almost every volunteer is saying this, because in the winter Moldovans eat the food they have conserved.  So lots of pickled food, potatoes, beans and beets.  I actually like the beets, but sometimes the pickled food is just too much for me.  I have tried to buy tomatoes, but the quality is just not worth the price.  I will wait for the good stuff in a couple of months .

5) Not being asked daily about my shoe choice and if I am cold.  I love that my host family and work partner care enough to ask these questions, but my host family has done an excellent job at keeping my room warm, and my office is too warm, but things could be worse right?

Hopefully Spring comes soon….o zi buna!

Author: Mary O

Hi, I'm Mary. I am orignally from Spokane Wash., where I lived for 20 years of my life. I went to school in Bellingham Wash, at Western Washington University and graduated with a degree in Business Administration. In June 2011, I moved to Moldova for the Peace Corps. In the Peace Corps, I am an Agribusiness and Rural Development Volunteer, and live in a town called Riscani, which is about 3 hours northwest of the capital city. I love Moldova, but there are somedays where I really miss all my friends and family in the States! Email me if you have more questions!

Leave a Reply

