There's Something about Mary

Stories and thoughts about my time as a Peace Corps volunteer in Moldova

5 Strangest Thanksgivings

Leave a comment

So, there is a blog I follow where every one of her posts is a list.  I thought I would try one, and just so you know these are in no particular order

1) 2003 – My mom and I went with a school group to Europe.  We started in Ireland, but Thanksgiving day was celebrated and spent in London.  I remember that night for dinner they gave us American-stlye hamburgers and coke.  It didn’t feel like Thanksgiving at all, espcially since all of London was decorated for Christmas.  My dad was in Washington with my sister and her boyfriend, Steve.  They tried to do the typical Thanksgiving dinner but nothing really turned out like it was suppose to.

2) 1999 – My family and I went on a vacation to Disneyworld.  Thanksgiving day was spent in the magic kingdom, and in the evening we watched a firework show.  I remember we looked into eating at the restaurant by Cinderella’s castle, but it was rather expensive so we decided we would find a restaurant outside of Disney when we left.  By the time we left I think it was close to midnight and the only thing open was a Dennys (or some place similar), we ended up having soup.

3) 2006 – In April of 2006 my parents sold their house and put almost all of their belongings in strorage.  They moved into our 600 square-foot cabin while they waited for their new house to be built.  The original plan was that it would be done in time for the holidays, but life happened, plans changed and it wasn’t.  Since the cabin wasn’t really big enough to hold all 6 of us, we celebrated at my sisters house instead.  And we ended up celebrating there the next two years.  Some basic kitchen utensils my sister was missing, but it continued to get easier, and I think now we own 4 meat thermometers because we always seemed to misplace.

4) 2010 – Last year, it was our second Thanksgiving in my parents new house.  My dad had taken the week off to do some work around the house.  He and a friend dug a ditch by the front door and before they had time to finish the work, it started to snow, and it never went away till Spring.  I also was working retail and had to be at work around 2 or 3, so I went to bed after having some pie. At one point we also talked about how I wasn’t going to be around for the holidays in 2011, but I never realized how quickly that time would come

5) 2011 – This year I am in Moldova, and trying to describe to my work partner and my host mom what Thanksgiving is with my limited Romanian is a bit tough.  Yes, I miss my family and friends, I have since the day I left. But I am alo really enjoying all the new things I am learning in Moldova.  I also really want some of my dads stuffing and my moms dilly bread.   I am excited to see my family tonight via Skype and Saturday I will celebrate with my fellow volunteers in the capital.

Happy Thanksgiving to all my friends and family.  I miss you and I am grateful to have all of the wonderful people in my life!

Author: Mary O

Hi, I'm Mary. I am orignally from Spokane Wash., where I lived for 20 years of my life. I went to school in Bellingham Wash, at Western Washington University and graduated with a degree in Business Administration. In June 2011, I moved to Moldova for the Peace Corps. In the Peace Corps, I am an Agribusiness and Rural Development Volunteer, and live in a town called Riscani, which is about 3 hours northwest of the capital city. I love Moldova, but there are somedays where I really miss all my friends and family in the States! Email me if you have more questions!

Leave a Reply

