There's Something about Mary

Stories and thoughts about my time as a Peace Corps volunteer in Moldova

Drinking in Moldova

Leave a comment

In Moldova, drinking is very much a part of their society.  Thoughout training we learned that it is common to have your partners and coworkers offer you shot, in the morning, middle of the day, whenever.  It doesn’t matter if you are at shool or in an office, they are hospitable people and love to share.  A lot of families make their own wine and vodka (the vodka has a name, but I can’t remember it right now), they also love to share and show off what they have made.

My alcohol consumption has gone down since training.  When I was in Ciorescu, I was surrounded by other  Americans and it was very easy, cheap and fun to go to the bar nd have a beer.  Now that I am in my village alone, it is not the same, and I am not one to drink alone.

I have been working for 3 weeks now, and not had any alcohol even offered to me at work, I have heard of other volunteers having some, so I was beginning to think it wasn’t going to happen for me.  Today while I was diligently trying to look busy, my partner came over to me and said it was time for pauza (break).  This is usually my time for a cup to tea, yogurt, a banana, maybe a tomato.  Today was different, there were 2 other ladies joining us, they had brought a roasted chicken and some placenta (delicous) and some olives.  We all sat down, my partner locked the door, and she opened the cabinet and brought out a bottle of vodka and also Cricova champagne.  Now I am not very good at refusing alcohol (something I should probably work on), so I asked for puţin (little).  Somehow I still ended up drinking 2 glasses.

Oddly enough, today was the first day that I actually felt like I did something at work.  Tomorrow my partner is giving a seminar, and I helped her put together the packets for the participants, making the copies, stapling and hole-punching all included.  I kind of felt like I was pack at the hospital puting together Senior Circle stuff for Joey ;). We’ll see what tomorrow is like, (I am planning on bringin my camera, since I have been bad about taking pictures) also this weekend is Moldovan Independance Day!

Until next time 🙂

Author: Mary O

Hi, I'm Mary. I am orignally from Spokane Wash., where I lived for 20 years of my life. I went to school in Bellingham Wash, at Western Washington University and graduated with a degree in Business Administration. In June 2011, I moved to Moldova for the Peace Corps. In the Peace Corps, I am an Agribusiness and Rural Development Volunteer, and live in a town called Riscani, which is about 3 hours northwest of the capital city. I love Moldova, but there are somedays where I really miss all my friends and family in the States! Email me if you have more questions!

Leave a Reply

