There's Something about Mary

Stories and thoughts about my time as a Peace Corps volunteer in Moldova

Sometimes….

Leave a comment

Sometimes I am not so smart.  When all of trainees first arrived 2 months ago we were given several things to help keep us safe and healthy.  These things included a Brita water filter, medical kit full of anything that I might need, (The bug cream and ibuprofen have really come in handy), fire extinguisher and a smoke/carbon monoxide detector.  Luckily the smoke detector has not gone off, if it detects carbon monoxide it will speak to you according to our Safety and Security officer.

The thing I did realize, just last week though is that there is a small light on the detector and it blinks every couple of minutes, not really a big deal during the day time, but at night I have found it to be slightly obnoxious.  It also looks a bit like there is lightening in the distance, which is what I thought was the case for my first 2 months in Moldova.  When I was living in Ciorescu, my smoke detector was on top of my dulap de haine (dresser) and out of sight so I forgot about it, but I do remember seeing small flashes and thinking there was a lot of lightening.  And then I moved to Riscani, and I have yet to find a good place to put it, so it sits on a table at the end of my bed, this is how I eventually figured it out. And now telling everyone this makes me feel kind of silly.  Like they say, you learn something new everyday.  This is especially  true for me right now in Moldova.

O zi buna!

Author: Mary O

Hi, I'm Mary. I am orignally from Spokane Wash., where I lived for 20 years of my life. I went to school in Bellingham Wash, at Western Washington University and graduated with a degree in Business Administration. In June 2011, I moved to Moldova for the Peace Corps. In the Peace Corps, I am an Agribusiness and Rural Development Volunteer, and live in a town called Riscani, which is about 3 hours northwest of the capital city. I love Moldova, but there are somedays where I really miss all my friends and family in the States! Email me if you have more questions!

Leave a Reply

