There's Something about Mary

Stories and thoughts about my time as a Peace Corps volunteer in Moldova

My first week in Rîșcani

Leave a comment

My host mom was very nice and let me sleep in on Saturday morning, when I woke around 10, she made me breakfast then asked if I wanted to help her in the garden.  Cultural integration is important, so I said yes.  We headed out to the tomatoes and started picking, each time we would fill a bucket, she would go empty it in a crate by the house and come back.  The tomatoes we picked she is preserving for winter.  I asked if she wanted help with that process, but she told me to go relax and rest.

We also picked some green beans for dinner later that night, they are more yellow then green, but still tasty 🙂

I unpacked all my clothes and made my room look frumos (beautiful), I felt very accomplished for the day, I also went for a nice walk around the town, found a different way to get to work, it involved going over a really old and rickety bridge…. fun times.

My new room

Sunday my host mom woke me up around 9 and we drove to the piata (outdoor market) they have everything you could think of, clothes, hardware, bedding, towels, fresh fruit and veggies, etc.  I bought some bananas and a power strip.  Once I got home though, my power strip wouldn’t fit in my outlet without a special adapter, that luckily mama gazda had.  Old Moldovan outlets are slightly smaller then the EU standard ones.

Monday mama gazda and I went to the Orange store together to get me some internet, she had talked with her son-in-law and their first instinct was to get DSL through the phone line, but then I couldn’t use it in my room, so we ended up going with the slightly more expensive Orange stick, which I can use anywhere that has Orange coverage.  I also was lucky and got a good deal on it since the contract was through her name, not mine!  I then went to the office for my first day, not much happened except me surfing the Internet trying to look busy.  The rest of my week at work followed in about the same manner, I have no direct task as to what my partner wants me to do, so really I have not done much.  I did get my own set of keys though, which I forgot the one-day I arrived before my partner ;).

Noapte buna.

Author: Mary O

Hi, I'm Mary. I am orignally from Spokane Wash., where I lived for 20 years of my life. I went to school in Bellingham Wash, at Western Washington University and graduated with a degree in Business Administration. In June 2011, I moved to Moldova for the Peace Corps. In the Peace Corps, I am an Agribusiness and Rural Development Volunteer, and live in a town called Riscani, which is about 3 hours northwest of the capital city. I love Moldova, but there are somedays where I really miss all my friends and family in the States! Email me if you have more questions!

Leave a Reply

