There's Something about Mary

Stories and thoughts about my time as a Peace Corps volunteer in Moldova

Compot!

Leave a comment

So one night a couple months back, Mama gazda asked me if I wanted to help her.  At first I said no, stating that I needed to study.  After about 10 minutes of studying, I decided studying can wait, and went to help her.  She was pitting sour cherries (visine) to make compot.

Compot is a delicious boiled juice juice that many Moldovans make a lot of in 5 litere containers and store in their basement (vech) for during the winter.  They also store pickled vegetables and wine down their….we will see how winter goes 😉

Other varieties I have tried include a raspberry/sour cherry mix and a strawberry.  Both very delicious, mix with some vodka and you have a dangerous combination 😉

Noapte Buna

Author: Mary O

Hi, I'm Mary. I am orignally from Spokane Wash., where I lived for 20 years of my life. I went to school in Bellingham Wash, at Western Washington University and graduated with a degree in Business Administration. In June 2011, I moved to Moldova for the Peace Corps. In the Peace Corps, I am an Agribusiness and Rural Development Volunteer, and live in a town called Riscani, which is about 3 hours northwest of the capital city. I love Moldova, but there are somedays where I really miss all my friends and family in the States! Email me if you have more questions!

Leave a comment