There's Something about Mary

Stories and thoughts about my time as a Peace Corps volunteer in Moldova

My Permanent Site

Leave a comment

So, today we found out our permanent sites, and we will all be going to visit them this coming weekend!  I am excited, but also slightly terrified, since I have always had the crutch of my host sister speaking a little bit of English, and having the other volunteers in my village that I could talk to.  But from what I have seen, I am the only volunteer in the area, and the nearest ones are 30-40 minutes away via bus or maxitaxi (rutiera).  We’ll see how this goes with limited language capabilites….

From what I can tell I will be working with the Association of Business Women in the raion I will be living in.  Raions are the center of several small villages, they have most every convenience that a person would need so they don’t have to go all the way to the really big cities. I will be staying with my new host family, which consists of a mother and a father.  So far this is all I know.  Here is a google map of where my town is located (I am the town slightly northwest of Baltis:

Oh, and I still have to tell you about my awesome weekend celebrating the 4th of July, Moldovan style….pictures to come, I promise 🙂

Author: Mary O

Hi, I'm Mary. I am orignally from Spokane Wash., where I lived for 20 years of my life. I went to school in Bellingham Wash, at Western Washington University and graduated with a degree in Business Administration. In June 2011, I moved to Moldova for the Peace Corps. In the Peace Corps, I am an Agribusiness and Rural Development Volunteer, and live in a town called Riscani, which is about 3 hours northwest of the capital city. I love Moldova, but there are somedays where I really miss all my friends and family in the States! Email me if you have more questions!

Leave a Reply

