There's Something about Mary

Stories and thoughts about my time as a Peace Corps volunteer in Moldova

Where have I been?

Leave a comment

So, it’s been a while since I updated and posted a blog.  I’ll admit it, I have been slacking a bit. Here is an awesome Rihanna video, where she asks “Where Have you Been?” 

I have been in Moldova.  First I spent New Years Eve in Chisinau with a group of volunteers and then the first week of January I took a nice vacation from my site and traveled down south to a town called Cahul to visit another volunteer.  Cahul is the 3rd largest city in Moldova, and looks a lot like the other towns.  It was nice to be able to see it though.  My next stop after Cahul was Ciorescu for my host moms birthday and Orthodox Christmas.  The other volunteer that they hosted this last summer came for the occasion too.  We all went to the sauna, like last year, and then on January 7th (Orthodox/Old Christmas) we got up and had lunch with the family.  For about the next 12 hours we didn’t leave the table, we all just sat around, talked, drank and ate.

When I got back to Riscani on January 8th, I set a goal for myself to stay at my site for the rest of the month, for a couple of reasons 1) to save money, and 2) to study for the GRE that I registered to take in February.  I was successful in completing my goal, and last weekend left my site for the first time since the 8th because I had meeting, COS (Close of Service) draft selection and I wanted to watch the Super Bowl with my friends.

So for the month of January I did a lot of studying, and it wasn’t much fun.  It has been about 4 years since I was in college and getting back into studying was hard, but now I am happy to say that the GRE is over!  I took it Saturday and I will see in a few weeks how I did.

Other exciting news was that I got my COS date last weekend.  COS or Close of Service is your last day as a volunteer.  Only 5 volunteers are able to leave on 1 day so we had a drawing to see who got which day.  I got Tuesday, July 9th, the first day!!

Here is a photo of some of the M26′s after we got our COS dates:

531851_4515972582140_653172718_nO zi buna!

 

Author: Mary O

Hi, I'm Mary. I am orignally from Spokane Wash., where I lived for 20 years of my life. I went to school in Bellingham Wash, at Western Washington University and graduated with a degree in Business Administration. In June 2011, I moved to Moldova for the Peace Corps. In the Peace Corps, I am an Agribusiness and Rural Development Volunteer, and live in a town called Riscani, which is about 3 hours northwest of the capital city. I love Moldova, but there are somedays where I really miss all my friends and family in the States! Email me if you have more questions!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 552 other followers