There's Something about Mary

Stories and thoughts about my time as a Peace Corps volunteer in Moldova

Happy Thanksgiving

Leave a comment

Last year I wrote about different ways I have celebrated Thanksgiving in the past, so this year I thought why not tell everyone what I am thankful for.

  • First off, I am thankful for my parents.  My parents are incredible supportive and are always there to help me when I need them.  They even came to visit me and see how I live everyday.  It was awesome to share that with them.
  • My sister, even though while growing up we didn’t get along super well, she is always there when I need someone to talk to and I am blessed to have her in my life.
  • My friends, I have a great group of friends that always know how to cheer me up if I am having a bad day and even though we all lead busy lives we still find time to connect even though we are 10 hours apart.
  • Skype….It has made this experience much easier.  I can only image it would have been much more difficult serving in the Peace Corps when internet was not as readily available.
  • Other Peace Corps volunteers.  There is an awesome group of people in Moldova, they are very welcoming and I have made some amazing friendships to take back with me.
  • The great Moldovans I have met, including both my host families. I have gotten to know some great people in Moldova, that even with the little they have always make sure I am taken care of.

I hope everyone has a great Thanksgiving.  Eat some delicious food.  I am so excited for next year to be home and have my Dad’s stuffing….I miss it :)

Author: Mary O

Hi, I'm Mary. I am orignally from Spokane Wash., where I lived for 20 years of my life. I went to school in Bellingham Wash, at Western Washington University and graduated with a degree in Business Administration. In June 2011, I moved to Moldova for the Peace Corps. In the Peace Corps, I am an Agribusiness and Rural Development Volunteer, and live in a town called Riscani, which is about 3 hours northwest of the capital city. I love Moldova, but there are somedays where I really miss all my friends and family in the States! Email me if you have more questions!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 552 other followers